A bitter diabetic…

So here’s what happened at my new job, as promised. 

Well within the first 30 min I would say, she started making comments about my weight and how I need to lose “at least 3 kg”. When I voiced out that I am happy with how  I look she disguised her insults as care and concern over my diabetes. Oh yes, I am a diabetic. A type 1 diabetic since I was 8…. Well one month before I was 8 years old. This year marks 20 frigging years!
So anyway, she would just pass comments about my diet and talk over me when I tried to correct her. Bear in mind, she has a type 1 diabetic niece so really should know better. A lot of what she was saying we’re all misconceptions like how I shouldn’t eat anything that contains sugar. Diabetics, popular to contrary belief do need sugar at times. Having a “hypo” (Low blood sugar) can literally result in death, and I have come so close too may times. 

So anyway, I put up with her yelling at me for no reason, her unreasonable rules such as not being allowed to sit in her chair at front desk because that is “her chair”, which led me to having to stand for close to 4 hours with nothing to do. I saw her make another staff member cry, I saw her argue and talk badly about other staff members infront of customers. There were just so many things that pissed me off about that one day.

After work I met a very good friend by the name of Angela and we had a drink and I vented out, almost close to breaking down. I decided to just keep on going because I had to. I needed the money. So after our drinks I went home and prepared myself for the next day.

Oh boy the next day did indeed come and I entered the work place at 10.30am with a very heavy heart. She seemed to be ok at first but then at one point she suddenly said, infront of other people mind you, that “All diabetics are ill disciplined” going on to add that this was how they got their diabetes in the first place. THIS PISSED ME THE HELL OFF!

 

So let me just repeat that for those of you at the back, “The exact cause of Type 1 diabetes is UNKNOWN”. BABIES have been known to get diabetes weeks after birth, some are even born with it, so how is it that the baby was irresponsible. Yes, I know there is the very frustrating misconception that an unhealthy diet and lack of exercise gives you diabetes. This may be a contributing factor to TYPE 2 diabetes, but not type 1. I explained this to her and she kept cutting me off until eventually she asked, “What is type 1?”

Hold up! The fact h that she did not even know that there were different types of diabetes pissed me off even more and showe just how stupid she was… Or is.

*Just a side note, upon meeting a diabetic, non-diabetics should never try to give advice or say stupid things like “oh did you eat too many sweets as a kid?” NO! Don’t make stupid jokes like “If I eat anymore cake I’m gonna get diabetes!” NO! It is incredibly incredibly offensive.     

I would never make such a comment about disease I knew nothing about. Even if it were true, I would ot be so rude or offensive. That is not how you act as a decent human being. I decided to ride it out and when I got home I spoke to my mum crying Lao bad at the discrimination and utter ignorance. I decided I old not go back and I may have made a stupid decision but I will not work in a place where the boss has no respect for staff. I t is disgusting . 

So that’s basically how I got into this black hole right now. I m unemployed , running out of cash, haven’t paid numerous bills, I guess the only thing I have is my pride.

I had some people tell me I shouldn’t have le it affect me because now look at whether position I’m in. But then I also have people who tell me that I did the right thing and that she’s a bitch. I’m inclined to side with the latter.

            
To be honest , John can go and fuck himself for this stupid joke. You don’t get diabetes from eating candy bars. PLease stop. This is not funny. This is my life, diabetic lives, it’s not a joke.

Leave a Reply

